Find an authorised Perth Mint Distributor here.

Subscribe To ENewsletter
First Name
Email Address
View a sample Email Newsletter
Gold & Silver Price Chart
Prices are in USD per oz.


Ray Bennett has had an extensive background in finance and banking with over 25 years’ experience in the banking industry. Mr Bennett was the General Manager Retail Banking for Challenge Bank immediately prior to leaving the banking industry.

Mr Bennett was subsequently appointed Chief Executive Officer of the then Western Australian Totalisator Agency Board in 1995.  He remained as Chief Executive until the Totalisator Agency Board was abolished in 2003, and Racing and Wagering Western Australia established to continue the operations of the Totalisator Agency Board and take control of the integrity and management of the racing industry, including allocation of funds across the three racing codes.  Mr Bennett was appointed Chief Executive of the new organisation, a position he held until his retirement in 2008.

Mr Bennett was a Director with the Western Australian Lotteries Commission for six years.

RON EDWARDS BEc (WA), MEd (Hons) (Syd), EdD (WA)
Ron Edwards is a founding member of the Graham (Polly) Farmer Foundation committed to providing opportunities for Indigenous youth; he is a Council Member of the Anglican Schools Commission concerned with providing low fee Anglican education.  He also works as a consultant in the resources and seafood industries.  Dr Edwards is a Board Member of the Potato Marketing Corporation and the Australian Landcare Council.

In 2006 Dr Edwards was awarded a Doctorate in Education from the University of Western Australia; his topic was social inclusion in the low fee Anglican School system in Western Australia.  Formerly, Dr Edwards was the Member for Stirling in the Federal Parliament and was Chairman of the Economics Committee for the Federal Government.  Recently he has worked on European trade matters for the Australian seafood industry and provides strategic advice on various projects.

Gaye McMath is the Chief Operating Officer at the University of Western Australia (UWA) and is responsible for the University services of Financial Services, Human Resources, Campus Management and Venues Management. Ms McMath previously held the position of Executive Director of Finance and Resources at UWA and prior to that role was Pro Vice-Chancellor (Resource Management) and Chief Financial Officer at Murdoch University.

Prior to joining the higher education sector, Ms McMath had a 23 year career with BHP Billiton (BHP) where she held a range of senior executive roles in finance, strategy, planning, commercial and treasury operations within the minerals, steel and corporate divisions.  Ms McMath was a BHP nominated Director on a number of domestic and international mining infrastructure subsidiary and joint venture Boards. Ms McMath combines her current executive role with non-executive directorships and is on the Board of the Western Australian Treasury Corporation.

John Murphy represents the Western Australian Under Treasurer.  He is currently the acting Director of the Infrastructure Division in the Western Australian Department of Treasury.  In this role
Mr Murphy heads a team that provides advice to the government on the major Government owned infrastructure and commercial agencies.

Mr Murphy has worked within the State Public Service for over twenty years in a variety of financial, economic and policy roles. As well as working in the Department of Treasury he has worked  in agencies dealing with the resources and transport sectors.

Chris Wharton is Chief Executive Officer of Seven West Media WA (SWM).

Mr Wharton is responsible for all SWM assets in Western Australia – The West Australian, West Regional Publications (23 mastheads), its on-line properties, WA Publishers, Redwave Media (nine regional licence areas) and Channel Seven Perth.

Before that Mr Wharton was Chief Executive Officer of West Australian Newspapers, a position he held from December 2008.

Prior to that, he was Managing Director of Channel Seven Perth Pty Limited for nine years.  During this period Channel Seven Perth dominated its opposition.

Mr Wharton’s career began as a journalist and he worked in every area of newspaper management in Sydney before being appointed Chief Executive Officer of Perth’s Community Newspaper Group in 1995.  In 2013 Mr Wharton became Chairman of Community Newspaper Group.

Mr Wharton’s community and business involvement includes membership of the Telethon Trust, Committee for Perth and the Australian Institute of Company Directors and West Coast Eagles Board.

Ed Harbuz was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Gold Corporation on 1 July 2003.  Mr Harbuz was Managing Director of the South African Mint Company Pty Ltd for almost seven years until
2001 and Group Managing Director of Cullinan Holdings Ltd, one of South Africa’s oldest industrial companies, prior to that. Preceding this, he was Chief Executive of Cullinan Refractories and Managing Director of Steetley Refractories in the United Kingdom.  Mr Harbuz holds a Master of Business Leadership from the University of South Africa and a BSc (Electrical Engineering) from the University of Natal.

Richard Hayes was appointed as Chief Financial Officer of Gold Corporation in March 2003. He was previously the Chief Operating Officer and an Executive Director of AGR Matthey from October 2002 to March 2003 and prior to that he was Director, Finance and Deputy Managing Director of AGR Joint Venture from December 1998 to October 2002. Prior to that, he was Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary of Golden West Refining Corporation Ltd, an ASX-listed company controlled by N M Rothschild & Sons Ltd which, in December 1998, merged with Gold Corporation’s refining and jewellery manufacturing business to become the AGR Joint Venture.

Mr Hayes came to Australia from Zimbabwe in 1987 and held a number of financial management positions with Boral Ltd prior to joining Golden West.